Bridlington Tourist Information 01482 391634
Bringing Bridlington Information to You
Whitby 38 Miles from Bridlington
Whitby, currently a fishing port and popular tourist destination, is dominated by the ruins of St. Hilda's Abbey – Whitby Abbey, high on Whitby's East Cliff, made famous by Bram Stoker's novel Dracula. Below the abbey a maze of narrow streets run down to the busy quayside.
From the old town 199 steps lead up to the parish church of St. Mary, it was here that Bram Stoker was inspired to write his world famous book.
Picturesque fisherman's cottages, cobbled streets, storied Georgian town houses, nooks and alleyways, Whitby has a lot to offer its visitors; whether they are lured by the town's rich history or quaint beauty, tourist attractions and amusements or great seafood. Whitby has something for everyone.
The town has a strong literary tradition. Part of Bram Stoker's novel Dracula was set in Whitby, incorporating pieces of local folklore, including the beaching of the Russian ship Dmitri. Stoker discovered the name "Dracula" at the old public library.
Elizabeth Gaskell set her novel Sylvia's Lovers partly in the town which she visited in 1859and Lewis Carroll stayed at 5, East Terrace between July and September 1854: his first publications may have been published in the Whitby Gazette.
Whitby Abbey was founded by St Hilda in the year 657. The ruins, which overlook the fantastically picturesque Whitby harbour, should be high on any visitor's list of things to see when they come to Whitby for the first time.
Pay & Display parking is available very close to the abbey itself, accessed via Green Lane, leading up the hill from Church Street, close to the new (not old) bridge. But if you're able, the very best way to access the abbey is by climbing (and counting!) Whitby's famous 199 steps.
Entrance fees for Whitby Abbey are charged, though access is free for members of English Heritage.
Captain Cook Memorial Museum is worth a visit The Museum is in Walker's House which belonged to Captain John Walker to whom the great explorer, Captain Cook was apprenticed in 1746, and to which Cook returned in the winter of 1771/2 after the First Voyage.
The house is situated in Grape Lane on the harbour side. A plaque on the wall states that the house was built in 1688 by Joseph and Susannah Dring. It is a largish building on three floors with an attic. It is regarded as a typical example of a well-to-do ship-owner's house of the period. Much is known about the furnishings of the house from an inventory of contents taken in 1754. The two ground floor rooms are furnished according to this inventory and decorated in the original colour.
The house was bought in 1729 by his father Captain John Walker, and became his home and place of business. He was also a captain in the merchant marine and developed the family's shipping business. He died in 1743. After the deaths of his mother and brother, John Walker moved into the house by 1755. The house remained in the family until the mid-19th century and then was used by turns as a hospital and as a private residence until rescued in 1986 to become the Captain Cook Memorial Museum.